Why Choose The Cinema?

In this day and age anyone can watch the latest blockbusters with minimum effort by finding a link on the internet and streaming illegally. This is proving extremely popular with people of all ages but especially with the younger audience. Whilst I can accept that a trip to the cinema can be a step too far in someones weekly financial budget I also argue that the cinema in comparison to other forms of entertainment actually is quite affordable.

Take for example 2 adult tickets to the cinema, this would come in at anywhere from 15 to 25 euro depending on time and location. Let’s go with and average of about 20 Euro for 2 adults. Compare this then to 2 adults walking in to a pub on a Saturday night. Now on a Saturday night out my spending can get a bit out of control after a few drinks and lets just say it’s definitely over the 10 euro pp ticket mark and leave it at that. I also wake up on Sunday morning in quite a different state. My boss would most likely prefer I went to the cinema on Saturday night instead of the pub judging by past experiences.

Apart  from all the money jazz the point I would most like to make is that you simply cannot beat the cinema when watching a movie. Movies are literally made to be watched in the cinema and a huge amount of research goes in to bringing you the best experience possible both audio wise and visually.

The difference in watching a movie at home and in the cinema is incomparable. Walking through the doors of the cinema is an experience starting with trademark punch-in-the-face aroma of freshly popped popcorn to the moments spent gazing at the movie posters followed by the “that’s meant to be good yano” chat as you try to convince your girlfriend that she would love the new Sylvester Stallone movie but finally reaching the *mutual* agreement that “P.S I love you” is the right choice.

The experience of the cinema is like no other and is a timeless past time that can be enjoyed by all ages. If you haven’t been in a while then head down to your local cinema this weekend, grab some popcorn , argue over what to see and I can guarantee you will enjoy the experience. Except of course if it is “PS, I Love You”.

Note – PS, I love you wasn’t that bad.

5 thoughts on “Why Choose The Cinema?

  1. I really enjoyed this, a great mix of description and humor that tie in well together. I am new to this and your blog is one of the first I have read. Good luck with your blogging, I look forward to seeing more of your work.

    Like

Leave a comment